Which screen is right for you?

There are several types of screen for protecting your privacy in your garden, on your terrace or on your balcony: planting vegetation (a hedge), fitting rigid panels or using concealment products fitted to the existing structure (fences, railings, etc.) or even the more drastic solution of building a wall.

There are several criteria involved: price, visual appearance, ease of fitting, concealment (from slight to total), maintenance, ageing, etc.

Below you can find a list of practical solutions for protecting yourself!

Hedges

Artificial or natural, an environmentally friendly choice?

Not only that - good-quality artificial hedges are very realistic and look completely natural.

The other issue to bear in mind is maintenance. Natural hedges have to be maintained starting from when they are planted, including giving them an annual trim, watering young plants, etc. Not to mention the fact that hedges take several years before they grow tall enough to block the view completely.
In a society where things are happening more quickly every day, it is reasonable to ask the following question: is it better to get a 100% natural edge that will not block the view straightaway and needs to be maintained on an annual basis, or a very realistic artificial hedge that blocks the view completely and needs no maintenance?

Natural hedges

For decorative purposes, for concealment or protection, natural hedges are a good choice. The only thing is that, in order for them to be effective, you have to be patient and wait a few years, because they grow slowly and it is important to choose the right species. Regular maintenance is necessary, which can be inconvenient. On the other hand, before the hedge becomes an effective concealment, it may be worth lining it with a standard concealment canvas screen.

Haies Naturelles

Artificial hedges

These offer an appearance very close to that of natural hedges but without the disadvantages, and above all require no inconvenient maintenance. This, plus their perfectly realistic appearance, mean that artificial hedges can be seen as a viable alternative to natural hedges.

Haies artificielles

Fencing panels

Visually appealing and practical, these exist in various forms: PVC, wood or composite. Whether slatted or full, they can act as pretty effective concealment depending on the solution adopted and can be visually striking. However, the budget involved can be considerable, and extensive installation work may be required, especially for cementing or installing on low walls.

PVS panels/fences

These are available with vertical struts (bars) or horizontal struts (barriers), but concealment is not their primary purpose and they cannot protect your privacy sufficiently. They therefore have to be lined with a privacy screen. A better alternative is to opt for a slatted format (like blinds) or full panels, which would then offer complete concealment. The range of colours available is very limited, sometimes being confined to white. Regular maintenance is required (scrubbing with a sponge or using a pressure washer) to prevent the appearance of moss or lichen. There are other notable disadvantages, such as yellowing over time and the cost of purchase and installation. N.B. some bottom-of-the-range models may also become brittle in colder weather.

PVS panels/fences

If you are a die-hard PVC fan, you would be better off opting for PVC reed screening, which offers a pleasant appearance, is available in a wide range of colours, conceals effectively and is very easy to fit to a standard fence.

Wood panels

Authentic, warm and beautiful are three of the qualities that come to mind when you think of wood panels. The only thing is that they need regular maintenance and cheaper models are often fragile and do not age well. It is highly recommended that you treat the wood every year to ensure it remains weather-resistant and does not age ahead of time. Depending on the models, the concealment offered may be less than ideal, and full concealment models have a not insignificant area exposed to the wind. Not to mention the budget required for the installation work.

Wood panels

Composite panels

This attractive solution is low-maintenance and very durable. A large range of colours and finishes is available, giving a much more luxurious appearance than conventional PVC panels. Make sure however that you get UV-treated composite panels so that the colour does not fade with time. The major disadvantage of this solution is that the cost of purchase and installation can be high, or even very high.

Composite panels

Concealment for gratings

It is easy to protect yourself against undesired snooping using concealment slats or screens. Both solutions are visually appealing and are available in a wide range of colours and levels of concealment. They offer unrivalled value for money as compared with the other solutions, are quick and easy to fit to any standard fence, and require no maintenance or other specific work. They are the ideal solution for anyone not wanting to spend too much time maintaining their fence or spend a large amount of money.

Mesh can also be an intermediate solution for reinforcing an existing arrangement that does not offer adequate concealment.

Privacy slats

Very easy to install and fit to existing standard mesh, slats are slotted between the links of your existing mesh fence and offer total concealment. They can be fitted either horizontally or vertically, depending on the end result desired. Multiple colours are available, typically shades of green, grey or black. Slats are a tried and tested solution for excellent privacy and visual appearance.
There are two types of slat - woven strips, which offer unrivalled value for money, and polypropylene (PP) slats

Privacy slats

Canvas screens

Canvas screens mean you can choose from anywhere between slight and total concealment, in a wide range of colours, or even the option to have the motif or photo of your choice printed on the screen. Most of all, it is a cost-effective solution that is really easy to install. It is better to choose a model with UV protection in order to ensure the colour will not fade over time. It is worth noting that most screens sold in department stores do not provide complete concealment and are generally manufactured in China. They are sold in rolls, to be combined together at the risk of creating an unsightly join, and the choice of colours is often limited (green, black, occasionally grey, etc.). Here, screens are made to measure in whichever length(s) you need and tailored to fit any configuration, even more complex ones, such as espalier fences. There are also different heights available to fit your regular fence, from 1 m to 2 m. For the printed motif on your screen, you can choose between existing landscapes or have your own photo printed

Canvas screens

Walls

Walls are a radical solution for avoiding prying eyes. The main disadvantage is the cost of the materials, the labour and the time. In addition, there is not a lot of scope for change...if the wall is intended to be painted, you have to remember to repaint it regularly. Another downside is that it can be easy to feel boxed in by walls, if your garden is on the small side. Be absolutely sure what you want before you start building.

Low walls and gabions

Low walls are an appealing solution for creating an easy boundary around your property, with a wide choice of materials available (brick, stone, plaster, etc.) but if you want to avoid being seen by nosy passers-by, you will in any event need to combine them with a concealment solution (panels, screen + fence, etc.).

Low walls

There is also the current trend of using gabions (metal cages filled with stones), which require a significant budget and conceal only up to a certain height.

Gabions

High walls

High walls mean you will have less wind in your garden and no view of your neighbours, cars or unsightly surroundings. Privacy guaranteed. However, watch out for the construction and maintenance costs and the risk of claustrophobia.

High walls

Size and length guide

Are you looking to buy a screen but wondering how to select the necessary size? There are in fact standard sizes of fence, and therefore standard heights for screens. You have to choose the height based on the height of your fence, balcony or terrace. Then you can measure the length for the screen you need.

Length

Screens can be purchased in rolls from hardware stores or via the internet (in lengths of 3, 5 or 10 m, sometimes longer), but they have to be cut to size (and therefore are liable to fray) and/or connected together, which may look unsightly and mean there is more work involved. The best solution is still to go for screens cut exactly to size, and if you need to cut it further, choose a run-resistant screen (lock stitch). 

Heights

There are currently 5 standard fence heights (1 m, 1.20 m, 1.50 m, 1.80 m and 2 m for the highest fences). 1.50 m is the most common height. Choose the height of your screen based on the height of what you are going to attach it to. For balconies (guard rails or parapets), special 0.80 m models are also available. Property managers facing this issue can send their enquiries here.

Table of correspondence:

1 m

100 cm

1.20 m

120 cm

1.50 m

150 cm

1.80 m

180 cm

2 m

200 cm

Decoration

Thanks to the latest technology, screens can now also be used for their visual appeal. Because everyone has different tastes, there is a large range of materials and colours to choose from, and you can even customise your screen.

Material

The material used for the screen will depend largely on the level of concealment and the visual appearance required. If you are looking for natural materials, your options are wood panels or natural hedges, which require regular maintenance. For synthetic materials, you have the choice between PVC, High-Density Polyethylene (HDPE), Polypropylene, etc. here again, the material will determine how much concealment the screen will provide.

Choice of colours

The range of colours available in department stores and online is restricted to one green, one black, occasionally a grey. At brise-vue.com, you can choose from the widest range of colours on the market. We’re bound to have your favourite colour, so let your imagination run free. The most commonly-used colours are green, grey and brown, although if you are looking for something more original, you can choose blue, red, orange or something else.

Motifs

If you enjoy customising your exterior, you can also customise your concealment, by You can also add coloured polypropylene strips to create a motif on your fence.

Decoration and material


Brise Vue utilise des cookies. En continuant de naviguer sur le site, vous déclarez accepter leur utilisation. En savoir plus

Échantillons Gratuits* Échantillons Gratuits*
Livraison rapide & gratuite* Livraison rapide & gratuite*
Devis gratuIT Devis gratuIT
Remises quantitatives Remises quantitatives
SECURED PAYMENT SECURED PAYMENT
clients satisfaits clients satisfaits

Quel Brise-vue (cache-vue) choisir ?

Plusieurs brises-vues (ou caches-vues) existent pour préserver votre intimité dans votre jardin, sur votre terrasse ou balcon : planter de la végétation (une haie), poser des panneaux rigides, un produit d’occultation à fixer sur la structure existante (clôture, rambardes…) voire même, plus radical, un mur. 

Plusieurs critères entrent en jeu. Le prix, l’esthétique, la facilité de pose, l’occultation (de faible à très forte), l‘entretien, le vieillissement…

Retrouvez ci-dessous l'ensemble des solutions viables pour vous protéger !

Les haies 

Artificielles ou naturelles, un choix écologique ?

Pas seulement, les haies artificielles de qualité sont très réalistes et leur aspect est tout à fait naturel.

L’autre point à prendre en compte est l‘entretien. La haie naturelle doit s’entretenir, depuis la plantation, jusqu’à la taille annuelle, en passant par l’arrosage des jeunes plants, etc. Sans compter que la haie va prendre plusieurs années à pousser avant de devenir complètement occultante.
Dans une société où tout va de plus en plus vite, il est légitime de se poser la question : une haie 100 % naturelle, mais pas occultante tout de suite et avec les contraintes de l’entretien annuel ou une haie artificielle très réaliste, d’occultation forte et sans entretien ? 

Les haies naturelles

Pour un usage décoratif, occultant voire protecteur, la haie naturelle est un bon point. Seulement, pour qu’elle soit efficace, il faut être patient et attendre un certain nombre d’années car la pousse est longue et le choix des essences adaptées se pose. Un entretien régulier est nécessaire, ce qui peut s’avérer contraignant. D’autre part, avant que la haie soit occultante, il peut être intéressant de la doubler avec une toile brise vue d’occultation standard

Haies Naturelles

Les haies artificielles

Au rendu très proche d’une haie naturelle, mais sans les inconvénients que nous offre celle-ci, et surtout ne nécessite aucun entretien ni contraintes. Ajoutez à cela un rendu parfaitement réaliste et la haie artificielle peut être considérée comme une alternative intéressante à la haie naturelle. 

Haies artificielles

Les panneaux clôture 

Esthétiques, pratiques, ils existent sous différentes formes : PVC, bois ou composite. À claire-voie, ou pleins, leur occultation est plutôt bonne suivant les solutions proposées, et le rendu assez haut de gamme. Toutefois, le budget peut s’avérer élevé, et nécessiter des travaux d’installation conséquents, notamment pour le scellement ou la pose sur un muret. 

Les panneaux/clôtures PVC

En lattes verticales (barreaux) ou horizontales (barrières) leur occultation n’est pas leur première fonction et ne protègent pas suffisamment votre intimité. Ils doivent alors être doublés par une toile d’occultation. Sinon, il vaut mieux opter pour une présentation à claire-voie (façon stores) ou en panneaux pleins, qui assurent alors une occultation parfaite. Le choix des coloris est assez limité est se résume parfois qu’au seul blanc. L’entretien doit se faire régulièrement (éponge ou nettoyeur haute pression) pour éviter l’apparition de mousses/lichens verts. Autres inconvénients notables, à savoir le jaunissement au fil du temps, l’installation le coût à l’achat… Attention également certains modèles bas de gamme peuvent se révéler cassants par temps froid. 

Clotures PVC

Si vous restez adeptes du PVC, mieux vaut alors partir sur des canisses PVC, au rendu esthétique, disponibles dans une grande variété de coloris, occultantes et très faciles à poser sur une clôture standard. 

Les panneaux Bois

Authentiques, chaleureux, esthétiques… sont autant de qualités que l’on attribue aux panneaux de bois. Seulement voilà, ils nécessitent un entretien régulier, les modèles à bas prix sont souvent fragiles et vieillissent parfois mal. Il est vivement conseillé de traiter le bois chaque année afin qu’il puisse résister aux intempéries et au vieillissement prématuré. Suivant les modèles, l’occultation n’est pas toujours optimale, et dans le cas de modèles complètement occultants, ceux-ci présentent une prise au vent non négligeable. Sans oublier qu’il faut prévoir un budget pour les travaux d’installation. 

Panneaux bois

Les panneaux Composites

Une solution esthétique qui nécessite peu d’entretien et qui est durable. Il existe une large gamme de coloris et d’effets matière et présentent un aspect beaucoup plus haut-de-gamme que les panneaux PVC standard. Attention cependant à prendre un panneau composite protégé contre les UV afin que la couleur ne passe pas. L’inconvénient majeur de cette solution est un coût d’achat et d’installation élevé, voire très élevé. 

Panneaux Composites

Occultation pour grillage 

Vous pouvez facilement vous protéger des vis-à-vis indésirables via des lamelles ou des toiles d’occultations. Les deux solutions sont esthétiques et proposées dans un large choix de coloris et d’occultation. Elles sont une solution d’un rapport qualité/prix incomparable par rapport aux autres solutions, rapides et faciles à poser sur une clôture standard, sans entretien et ne nécessitant pas de travaux spécifiques. Solution idéale pour celles et ceux qui ne veulent pas passer de temps à entretenir leur clôture, ni à investir des budgets conséquents.

Les brise-vue en occultation standard pour grillage peuvent aussi être une solution intermédiaire si vous voulez renforcer un dispositif existant qui ne serait pas suffisamment occultant. 

Lamelles d’occultation

Fixation et pose très simple sur grillage standard déjà existant, les lamelles s’insèrent entre les mailles de votre grillage et sont totalement occultantes. Il existe deux façons de les poser, soit à la verticale, soit à l’horizontale selon le rendu voulu. Plusieurs coloris sont disponibles, en général des nuances de verts, de gris et de noir. Les lamelles vous garantissent intimité et esthétique au top.
Il existe deux types de lamelles, soit en bandes tricotées offrant un rapport qualité-prix inégalé ou en lamelles Polypropylène (PP) 

Lamelles d'occultation

Brise vue en toile

Les brise-vue en toile vous permettent une occultation allant de légère à très forte, dans un large choix de coloris, avec la possibilité d’imprimer dessus des motifs ou des photos selon vos envies. Par-dessus tout, c’est une solution peu onéreuse et vraiment facile à poser. Il est préférable d’en choisir un avec traitement anti-UV pour éviter que les couleurs passent avec le temps. Il faut savoir que dans la majorité des cas les brise-vues vendus en grande surface ne sont pas complètement occultants et proviennent généralement de Chine. Ils sont vendus par rouleau, ce qui oblige à faire des raccords qui peuvent être parfois disgracieux, et les choix de coloris sont souvent restreints (vert, noir, parfois gris…). Ici, la toile est disponible sur-mesure dans la (les) longueur(s) souhaitée(s), s’adaptant à toutes les configurations, notamment les plus complexes, comme par exemple pour les clôtures en espalier. Pour la hauteur, il existe différentes tailles pour s’adapter à votre clôture standard, de 1 m à 2m. Et pour imprimer votre toile, vous avez le choix entre des paysages existants ou de faire imprimer votre propre photo

Brise vue en toile

Murs

Les murs sont une solution radicale aux problèmes de vis-à-vis. L’inconvénient principal est le coût en matériaux, la main d’œuvre et le temps. Ensuite il vous permet rarement de pouvoir changer… Si le mur est destiné à être peint, il faudra prévoir de le repeindre régulièrement. Autre inconvénient, il peut vite donner un sentiment d’enfermement sur des terrains de faible superficie. Soyez donc bien sûr de votre choix avant d’entamer les travaux. 

Mur bas et gabions

Un mur bas (muret) est une solution esthétique pour délimiter facilement votre terrain, avec un grand choix de matériaux (briques, pierres, enduit…) mais si vous souhaitez vous préserver des regards indiscrets, il devra de toutes manières être associé à une solution de brise-vue (panneaux, toiles + clôture…).

Mur bas

La tendance actuelle est aussi à l’utilisation de gabions (cages métalliques contenants des pierres), présentant un coût important et ne permettant pas une occultation haute. 

Gabions

Mur haut

Avec un mur haut vous avez moins de vent dans votre jardin et aucun vis-à-vis avec vos voisins, les voitures ou la vue gênante. Intimité garantie. Cependant attention aux coûts de construction, d’entretien et au risque de claustrophobie.

Mur haut

Guide des tailles et longueurs 

Vous souhaitez acheter un brise-vue, mais vous vous demandez comment choisir la taille nécessaire ? Sachez qu’il existe des tailles standard de clôture et par conséquent des tailles standards de hauteur de brise-vue. Vous devez choisir la hauteur en fonction de la hauteur de votre clôture, balcon, terrasse. À vous ensuite de mesurer la longueur nécessaire dont vous avez besoin. 

Longueur

Il existe dans les magasins de bricolage et sur le web des toiles vendues au rouleau (de 3, 5 ou 10 m, parfois plus), mais vous allez devoir les recouper (avec risque d’effilochage) et/ou les raccorder ce qui peut s’avérer inesthétique et demander du travail supplémentaire. Le mieux pour vous reste encore d’opter pour des toiles coupées au mètre près, et si vous avez besoin de les recouper, choisissez un brise-vue indémaillable (mailles bloquées). 

Hauteurs

On distingue aujourd’hui 5 hauteurs de clôtures standard (1m, 1,20 m, 1,50 m, 1,80m et 2 m pour les clôtures les plus hautes). 1,50 m est la hauteur la plus répandue. Choisissez la hauteur de votre brise-vue en fonction de la hauteur de votre support. Pour les balcons (garde-corps ou parapets), il existe aussi des fabrications spécifiques en 0,80 m. Dans ce cas, les syndics de copropriétés peuvent envoyer leurs demandes ici.

Tableau des correspondances :

1 m

100 cm

1,20 m

120 cm

1,50 m

150 cm

1,80 m

180 cm

2 m

200 cm

Décoration

Grâce aux nouvelles technologies, il est maintenant possible d’associer brise-vue et esthétique. Comme les goût et les couleurs ne se partagent pas, il existe un large choix de matières, de couleurs et il est également possible de personnaliser son brise-vue. 

Matière

La matière du brise-vue dépend en grande majorité du besoin d’occultation et de l’esthétique désirés. Si vous voulez une matière naturelle il faudra opter pour des panneaux en bois ou des haies naturelles, qui demandent un entretien régulier. Pour les matières synthétiques, vous avez le choix entre du PVC, du Polyéthylène haute densité (PEHD), du Polypropylène… Là encore cela dépendra aussi du choix d’occultation que vous ferez. 

Choix des couleurs

L’offre en coloris en grandes surface et sur le web est limitée à un vert, un noir, parfois un gris. Chez brise-vue.com, vous avez la plus grande offre de coloris disponible sur le marché. Des couleurs pour tous les goûts qui laissent libre cours à votre imagination. Les coloris les plus courants sont vert, noir, gris et marron, cependant si vous voulez des couleurs plus originales, il vous est possible d’opter pour du bleu, du rouge, de l’orange… 

Motifs

Si vous aimez personnaliser et décorer votre extérieur, il vous est possible de customiser votre occultation par le biais d’impression d’une photo sur une toile d’occultation. Vous pouvez également jouer sur les couleurs de lamelles en polypropylène pour créer un motif sur votre grillage/clôture.

Décoration et matière


Brise Vue utilise des cookies. En continuant de naviguer sur le site, vous déclarez accepter leur utilisation. En savoir plus